The Luitpold and Barbara Wallach Scholarship was established in 2019 by Professor Barbara Wallach of the University of Missouri-Columbia to recognize high achievement by Classics students.

Candidates will be evaluated on criteria including but not limited to: GPA in the major; performance in Classics courses; outstanding projects in Classics courses; current and past performance on national exams, such as the CAMWS Latin Translation Exam, the National Latin Exam, or the College Greek Exam; prizes given by the department, such as the Verse Composition prize and the Prize for Reimagining the Classics; high quality research, such as papers delivered at conferences; outreach efforts to promote classical studies; and involvement in classics related organizations such as the Classics Club and Eta Sigma Phi.

This year's scholarship (2024) will be conferred at the Classics Award Ceremony held at the I-Hotel Technology Room on Friday, May 10, 2024. To get to the I-Hotel from LCLB, take the 10W GOLD Bus from the stop at the intersection of Goodwin & Gregory in front of the Alpha Delta Pi sorority house & get off at the intersection of First & St. Mary's on the Northwest corner.



Past Winners

2023: Edric Lin and Tara Leininger

2022: Selina Lee

2021: Kyra Holzmacher

2020: Jacob Sorge